This year’s Kenyan Premier League Top Eight knockout tournament is set to begin on September 26 and run until November 1 when the final is held. The draw pitting the teams that finished in the top eight in the last season’s Kenyan Premier League table will be conducted on September 4 in Nairobi.

Defending champions Tusker, AFC Leopards, Gor Mahia, Chemelil Sugar, Sony Sugar, Sofapaka, Ulinzi Stars and Muhoroni Youth make the list of this year’s contenders.

The draw format will see the teams that finished top four last season and the remaining four drawn against the other in straight knockout matches, with the winners advancing to the semi-finals, where another draw will be conducted. Tusker defeated Leopards 2-1 in last year’s final.

Meanwhile, hot on the heels of conceding their abandoned Kenya Premier League tie to arch-rivals Gor Mahia on a three points two goals basis, Leopards have been ordered by the KPL’s Independent Disciplinary and Complaints Committee to play their next two home matches in empty stadiums. This was after IDCC found AFC fans guilty of crowd trouble during their June 27th league match against Thika United.

“Further AFC Leopards shall compensate Thika United for any property damage it suffered as a result of the unruly behaviour of the fans during the match. We direct Thika United to provide AFC Leopards with proof of the said damage within two weeks from the date of this ruling for purposes of verification,” read the IDCC ruling .

In the event that the clubs disagree on the said expenses, IDCC advised: “Either club shall refer back the matter to this Committee for resolution. Also today Leopards and Gor are expected to submit written explanations as to why they should not be punished for the hooligans acts.”